Skip to content

Belts and There Meanings

There are six belts: white, yellow, green, blue, red and black. White is given to beginners and black is given to students who have progressed through the grades and have a solid foundation in the techniques of Taekwondo to progress further.

Taekwondo Belts and there meanings

White Belt

Signifies innocence, as that of the beginning student who has no previous knowledge of Taekwondo.

Yellow Belt

Signifies the earth from which a plant sprouts and takes root as the foundation of Taekwondo is being laid.

Green Belt

Signifies the plant\’s growth as Taekwondo skills begin to develop.

Blue Belt

Signifies the Heaven towards which the plant matures into a towering tree as training in Taekwondo progresses. 

Red Belt

Signifies Danger, cautioning the student to exercise control and warning the opponent to stay away.

Black Belt

Opposite of white, therefore signifying the maturity and proficiency in Taekwondo, also indicates the wearer\’s imperviousness to darkness and fear.